Visa and Passport

Any foreign visitor who wishes to enter Japan must have a passport, which will remain valid during the period of stay. Nationals of many countries are eligible to enter Japan without a visa unless the purpose of the visit is to reside in Japan, to obtain employment or to otherwise engage in remunerative activities. The following is a list of nationals of countries that have “Reciprocal Visa Exemption Arrangements” with Japan:

For a period of 6 months or less Austria, Germany, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

For a period of 3 months or less Argentina, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Rep., El Salvador, Finland, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mauritius, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal (except when the passport was originally issued in present or former Portuguese colonies), San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Surinam, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey and Uruguay.

For a period of 90 days or less Andorra, Australia, Barbados, Bulgaria, Czech Rep., Estonia, Hong Kong, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Monaco, New Zealand, Poland, Slovakia and the U.S.A.

For a period of up to 14 days Brunei.